Standing on the shoulders of giants

So I came across this funky website: The Mathematics Genealogy Project. I decided to take a look at my ancestry and thus traced my fathers back to Newton and Galilei!

(nb: graduated at Cambridge if not stated otherwise)

Galileo di Vincenzo Bonaiuti de’ Galilei [Pisa]
Vincenzio Viviani [?]
Isaac Barrow
Isaac Newton
Roger Cotes
Robert Smith
Walter Taylor
Stephen Whisson
Thomas Postlethwaite
Thomas Jones
Adam Sedgwick
William Hopkins
Sir Francis Galton
Karl Pearson
John Wishart [Cork]
Maurice Stevenson Bartlett
David George Kendall [Oxford]
David Albert Edwards [Oxford]
Graham F. Vincent-Smith [Oxford]
Charles James Keith Batty [Oxford]
me?

3 thoughts on “Standing on the shoulders of giants”

  1. It is indeed a cool website. But you still need to complete you PhD in Math to be in there. More interestingly, everyone or almost everyone can be traced back to pretty famous people, which is quite understandable if you think about how education used to work back in the day. My current Algebra professor’s tree contains Cayley, Newton and Galilei. Nonetheless, interesting 🙂 Sadly, I won’t have such a tree.

Leave a comment